How to Export, Sort, and Convert Your Medium Content as Markdown

Be prepared, don’t waste hours on manual conversion

Jonathan Hsu
4 min readJan 25, 2024

In my previous article How to Export All Your Medium Content, we discussed how you can backup your content and the pros/cons surrounding what Medium provides.

For me, two of the biggest negatives of the export are that the content is in HTML and that stories, comments, and drafts are all grouped in a folder named posts.

So, I set out to develop a solution to address both of those deficiencies.

  • I want the posts to be converted to Markdown
  • I want the posts to be sorted into separate subfolders

This is written in Python, but the script is publicly available and I encourage any and all to fork the repo to either build it in another language or extend it for your own purposes. If you’re not comfortable picking up the baton, then go to the Issues tab and log an issue if there’s something you want changed and I’ll see what I can do.

--

--